about me

about me

11255362_593679060734460_6073362405934080714_n

This is me, Myra Ho Chang.

14 years ago the stroke got me. The stroke put my left body into sleep ever since. My left leg and  foot now is half way awaken but my left arm and hand never wake up!

I was a Chinese School(after school classes) director for almost 20 years. Before my retirement  or I should say two month before my 65th birthday, the stroke forced me to an earlier retirement!

The stroke did not strike me down. But to tell the truth, I was very much depressed at the beginning!

I started to practice  typing with four finger. Even it was not easy to try to take over the job of the left hand, but now my fingers are dancing on the keyboard!  Many times they dumped on the wrong key! Checking back and retyping takes more time!  Who cares! For seniors “Time” is the most thing we possess!  If God allow so.

I thought I would never be able to make Chinese Knotting any more. But with cord board, pins and tweezers,. I can still make some simple ones. Did you see my   Christmas Wreath –Chinese Knotting– that was made last Christmas.

After the stroke the biggest project I finished was a Chinese book ” Everlasting Blossoms”, and  published in Taiwan 2011. It tells:

What Everlasting Blossoms are.

Why was that named  Everlasting Blossoms .

What was the motive of crochet Everlasting Blossoms..

And unveiled the method of crochet Everlasting Blossoms, as well as the butterflies.

English is my second language.  I know my English is not great at all. There may be a lots of  grammatical errors.  You may call it Chinglish!  If you would like to help me with that, I’ll be very much  appreciated.

27 thoughts on “about me

    1. Thanks, Kally. I will keep on. You are right, as long as my story is readable, get the idea through,is what I am asking for. This is my very first time to try to write such a long article. It’s not easy for me at all. But I’m happy when I’m working on it, all those sweet and beautiful memories came back to me as if my parents were with me. I’m so proud that I have such wonderful parents. Thank you for all your suggestions, encouragement, and sharing my story with me. Please come back and read what is coming.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As long as you post an article, I will read it. I try my best to read every of my followers article because I know how much it means to everyone that their words and stories get read by somebody else other than their family members. I admire that you have a positive aura and a strength around you to keep you writing great articles. Treasure your parents memories and I’m sure they are watching and guiding from above. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you! my sweet girl. Your positive words is the source of my strength to keep on going. And as I said over again, if there is anything in the writing needs to be powered up or change, please let me know.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have a lovely friend who at age only 31 has recently suffered a massive stroke and has also lost the use of her left side. She has some very small movement coming back in her left foot/leg but nothing in her left hand. I’m going to show her this post so she has hope that she can continue life – slightly differently but still brilliantly. Thank you so much for sharing your story which brings hope to others who have suffered a stroke.. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell your friend, never give up!
      Never surrender! She is so young, only 31! Since youth is on her side, if she try do what the doctor tells her to do, she’ll recover sooner and better than I did. After 15 years of the stroke, at the age of 80, I’m still moving around. With one hand, so what! I would not waste any minute that God give me. I go out as much as I could, I play with computer, my iPhone, visit doctor, enjoy all the activities we have at our apartment. I’m a very busy woman!
      I’ll pray for your friend, will you please tell you friend, God loves her, He is always by her side. God did not take her away from the earth, He must have a good plan for her. What is it we don’t know. But there is something and we will know when time comes.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is truly beautiful and I will absolutely pass on your amazing inspiration to my lovely friend – her name is Kirsty.. This means a lot to me and will to her too! Thankyou so much.. xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And also,could you tell Kirsty, if an 80 year old lady survived from stroke at her 65s, a young 30s has much better chance if she tell herself: “I can do it”!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I will definitely be showing her your blog and your replies to help inspire her to keep going … she has a little boy who is only 3 so that is also a big motivation for her to keep on with her physiotherapy etc. Thank you so much for your kindness.. xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You’re quite right it is and I hope you have a wonderful day too. Thanks so much for following my blog – I hope you enjoy it.. xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

